Skip to content

You do this as a fad, I do this as a lifestyle.

October 22, 2008

I like to take my fads and obsessions seriously.  Since I had pancakes on Sunday it’s all i’ve eaten.  Tonight I thought i’d try some savoury ones.  Modesty isn’t a virtue of mine and i’m not gonna lie…they were probably the best pancakes i’ve ever eaten.  Here’s how they went:

  • 1 x cup of self raising flour
  • 1.5 x cups of Soy milk (I use So Good fat free because it’s lighter and has a sweetish taste) beat together until lumpless with a whisk or a cat-o-ninetails, like a civil war slave.
  • The pan has to be volcanic in temperature, chuck in a chunk of butter and watch it melt furiously on a high heat, then pour in the mix until it covers about 3/4 of the pan and then your mate gravity can help you out by letting the rest roll to the edge of the pan.

The first lot I made was sliced curried sausage (vegan o.c), red pepper and the strongest green jalepenos known to man. I garnished it with fresh spinach leaves, sun dried tomatoes and some crushed peanuts.  Sounds weird but it was a taste sensation.  It was like taking a grenade to the face though.

Second up was what I would like to call a ‘wogcake’. It was a greek/tuscany type affair with kalamata and green olives, roasted artichoke, sun dried tomatoes, fresh spinach and roasted aubergine (egg plant to the weirdos).  I garnished this one with pine nuts and sun dried capsicum.

Lastly, I had a roasted red and yellow capsicum, red onion and mushroom pancake.  I roasted them with some 100% pure maple syrup and light soy sauce in a parcel of foil on maxium heat in the oven.  It only took about 20-25 minutes and they didn’t burn because of all the moisture. (I shook them around every 6 minutes or so)  I had this one straight up because there was a lot of flavour.

For pudding I added some Dutch cinnamon to the leftover pancake mix and had it with chilled strawberries So Good vanilla ice cream and heaps of maple syrup.

I’m not even full either.  :|

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

I just remembered, I never did that apple review did I…..umm…they were all good.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. athleticomaladroit permalink
    October 23, 2008 6:17 am

    The mushroom one sounds intense. Clarke called them sperm bulbs today which made me feel sick. (It’s because I scoff them raw and he tells me my breath smells of sperm afterwards).

  2. nesssy permalink
    October 23, 2008 2:57 pm

    you need to get over eating within a comfort zone. once you have something good you eat it until you hate it. just like what you do with boys.

  3. October 23, 2008 8:50 pm

    Mim. That is fucked.

  4. athleticomaladroit permalink
    October 24, 2008 12:12 am

    Err…YEAH. It’s fucking minging. Goddamnit there was a reason for me coming on here and now I’ve forgotten it. I have noted you’ve become bored with the imperial/metric battle that’s currently dominating the UK headlines and switched to cups. Good work.

  5. November 9, 2008 3:15 am

    marry me

  6. November 9, 2008 3:16 am

    …and then cook god dammit haha

Leave a Reply

