Skip to content

The Best Day

November 18, 2008

Today was one of my favourite ever days i’ve had since being alive.

It started around the time I woke up and included wombats and viewing Vietnam war artillery.  I’ll start at the beginning…

My parents rocked up at 11am to pick me up and take us all to Phillip Island to see the penguins later on in the day.  We saw a chocolate factory when we got there so obviously we stopped by.  I purchased these little handmade treats…

Yeah Brits!

Yeah Brits!

s1054606

The peanut chocolate is so good <3

As we were leaving Willy wonka’s we drove passed a vietnam veterans museum and I nearly lost my shit, so we turned round and I spent probably the most interesting hour of my life looking around.  They had some real moving photographs, some even by photographers i’d heard of which I was siked on.  I got to see an M16 and a bunch of the artillery I’ve read so much about.  The M16s were much bigger than I thought they’d be.  We watched a twenty minute hologram movie on Australians in Vietnam.  I’m yet to read anything about that so I was completely enthralled.  I got to see the radios they used in the bush, the boots they wore, the packs they humped and the food they had to eat.  I could have cried.  The average age for men in the 2nd world war was 26, the average age for the Vietnam war was 20.  It was heartbreaking to see the young faces on the wall.  I learnt a thing or two about the Tunnel Rats, those were some brave dudes.  Fuck having their job.  Here’s some photos…

s10544871

M16s, responsible for the deaths of too many soldiers, they mainly jammed at a crucial moment.

M16s, responsible for the deaths of too many soldiers, they mainly jammed at a crucial moment.

M60, my stepdad's fired one of these in combat!

M60 (machine gun) my stepdad's fired one of these!

Lest we forget...

Lest we forget...

A radio. It's like a car battery.

A radio. Like a car battery

'Tunnel Rats'

s1054504
mine cable

Hologram education

Hologram education

s1054506

s1054510

s1054516
rules are rules

s1054518

I really wanna go back.  There was so much I had to miss.

They dragged me out so we could go to the animal sanctuary.

I got to see my first wombats, pelicans (though I’m told I saw one when I was ten in Crete but I don’t remember) Tasmanian devils and something called an Echidna.  Animals make me so happy.  When I’m old and retired…i’m opening my own animal sanctuary and i’m starting with a Donkey.  Here’s some cute animals…

I'd put money on these being able to swallow an asian child.

WILDEST. I'd put money on these being able to swallow and asian child.

s1054524

word.

word.

lidddle paws!

lidddle paws!

s1054534

A walking land urchin or..."Echidna"

A walking land urchin or...an "Echidna"

s1054540

s1054544

hai!

hai!

I almost fell down these were so cute.

I almost fell down these were so cute.

s1054571

Share

Share

A black swan

A black swan

Dungo pups with pink noses I want to eat

Dingo pups with pink noses I want to eat

hai!!

hai!!

Tiger Quoll

Tiger Quoll (it's sleeping)

A TASMANIAN DEVIL CAN CRUNCH YOUR BONEZ!

A TASMANIAN DEVIL CAN CRUNCH YOUR BONEZ!

s1054598

After the sanctuary we made our way to the penguin parade.  The only shit thing was the temperature. I’m not normally a wuss with the cold but tonight and the other day have been the coldest i’ve ever been in my life.  Might have something to do with the fact I was wearing a summer dress and the thinnest hoody ever.  We got to the place anyways and got “front row” seats (a step) and the rangers (anti-photo nazis) told us some stuff about the little penguins.  We waited for almost two hours for the little bastards to arrive.  While we were waiting, a seagull shit on my mum.  I’ve vomited twice in my life from laughing so much and  I thought tonight was going to be third time lucky.  What made it all the more hilarious was the fact that it went on her face.

So around 9pm we spotted the first bunch of little penguins, I got really frustrated because everyone could see them and was going apeshit at how wonderful they were but I couldn’t because I wear glasses and couldn’t see for shit.  The eventually came within my field of vision and I was beside myself trying to deal with their cuteness.  There was this one that was on its own, it was waddling along and kept stopping because it was so out of breath.  It obviously got real confused about whatever the hell it was doing because we saw it running back to the sea.    All the others arrived in bunches of about 8 or 10.  They are so little.  I’m so sad I don’t have a photo, not even a secret one.  the rangers were hell strict and I fear punishment.  When we were walking back up the prom we could see them all standing outside their little houses with their wives.  It was the best thing i’ve ever seen.  I even saw a family with a little chick.  In a strange way it made me feel broody, odd.

We left cooing over how sweet they were and made our way home.  Mark Knopfler’s dulcit tones and This Will Destroy You were our sound track for the journey home.

I was sitting in wonderment at the super starry sky the entire way home…. well…until we hit the city and I couldn’t see the stars anymore.  Reminded me of laying on a boat getting lost in the sky in the Whitsundays.  Someone take me away to star gaze.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

