Skip to content

Blooood…cont.

September 23, 2009

It’s that time of year again where I get to give blood.  Last time I found out I was B+ which is semi-rare… I suppose I am like the African Clawless Otter of the blood world, not insanely rare but rare enough to be hunted for my fur…..errr….  Anyway, this time I got a key ring and I chose ready salted crisps as my energy snack (because that was the only flavour they had left and the cakes all had eggs in.)

My veins are difficult to get blood from (apparently) though last time it was fine.   This time when the nurse put the needle in, nothing happened, in fact nothing happened for five minutes while she scoobied around under my skin.  She had to call another nurse over who just pushed the needle in further and made it feel like it was going to come out the other side, my arm was purple by that stage and it felt like my hand was going to explode.  Five minutes is a long time in that situation.  Don’t let this put you off though, giving blood makes you feel super, someone with the big C is gonna get a fresh injection of vegan blood and feel much better for it.

My key ring:

B posi

Green is my favourite colour, i guess i got lucky :)

drip

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

