Skip to content

Skin..

August 9, 2010

We went to the ‘Skin’ exhibition on the weekend at Wellcome galleries on Euston road, it was cool but not really what I was expecting.  I thought it was all going to be about the history of tattoos but there was hardly anything on it except a couple of actual tattoos on real skin.  It was mostly about the the history of human science, specifically organs and our obsession with skin.  I was especially excited by all the victorian anatomic lithographs that showed various states of “undress” right down to the skeleton.  It’s worth a visit as it’s free so if you love things like old school medical practices and drawings of penises and vaginas and guts then this is your jam.

Upstairs is a bit where you can draw pictures and put them on a wall.  Here is my amateur go:

And here is Matty’s pro one:

Old tattoos on human skin..

The best pie in the world..(if i do say so myself)

bus ride home..

(photos by Matty D)

6 Comments leave one →
  1. August 10, 2010 4:15 am

    Umm excuse me. How the hell am I a n00b…. I am l337 you have no idea! Off it I have not noticed this earlier haha

  2. August 10, 2010 7:10 am

    Hahaha you’ve always been that i just started showing the descriptions when i was fiddling about with the theme lolz. NOOby Dane. ;)

  3. leavemehere permalink
    August 10, 2010 2:23 pm

    That Pie!!
    I so want to bind a book from Human skin, I think I need someone to donate it though.
    What up! all the senior readers.

  4. August 12, 2010 2:44 pm

    huzzar, where have you been?
    This blog has become one of my many distractions from the stressful world of high fashion and lately you have left me wanting. At least one update a day if you please. Thank you!

  5. August 12, 2010 6:23 pm

    My apologies, i have been slack lately and I have no excuses. Thanks for reading, Mr High Fashion!

  6. August 13, 2010 4:12 pm

    You are fully off it because I would school you at CS!!

Leave a Reply

