Skip to content

Brampton Barbour jacket

October 25, 2010

I want this jacket so bad

9 Comments leave one →
  1. November 7, 2010 9:47 pm

    Barbour jackets are beautiful!
    Just wanted to ask you for some advice.. I feel like I’m eating a lot of carbohydrates in my diet which is leading me to feel like I’m putting on weight and bloating, just wondered if you have any ideas of how I can eat less and substitutes for them? Sorry if this question seems ridiculous, I don’t know anyone who has been a vegan for as long as you!
    Elise x

  2. November 7, 2010 10:32 pm

    Hey chick! Yes I love Barbour jackets and want one sooo bad. Hmm….I try not to eat too many carbs because i get carb-face haha (i’m sure it’s all in my head) and it so easy to do that as well. I’m trying to think what I have on a daily basis but i’ve got brain block, I don’t think i eat too many carbs but maybe i do?? – you are cutting out a lot of fat now so having carbs isn’t so bad. Today i had a fried breakfast with only one slice of toast, baked beans, sausages, mushrooms and fried tomatoes. I always try and get a portion of protein in my meals so get on the Tofu and mock meats. That breakfast filled me up until dinner for which i had a nut roast and plate of roasted veggies (recipe here – http://www.veg-world.com/recipes/cashew-mushroom.htm minus the egg of course) Fry’s do a real good selection of mock meats and you can get them from Holland and Barrett. I guess most meals are divided into quarters (in my case anyway) 1/4 protein 1/4 carbs and 2/4 vegetables. I often eat houmous and raw veggies – carrots, peppers, snow peas. You have to eat a lot of it to fill you up but having some raw foods incorporated into your diet is also pretty important to get the right nutrients. If you feel you eat a lot of bread try having wraps and pitta breads as a substitute, you can fill those with some decent veggies and salads too to take to uni or whatever. I guess it’s just about not being afraid to experiment, you’ll make something delicious one day and it’ll be your food fad haha. Standard meals i eat during the week: Breakfasts: shredded wheat, weetabix, jam or peanut butter on toast. Generally I miss lunch because i work weird hours but if i didn’t i’d have a sandwich (tartex and cucumber normally ha) Dinners: stir fried veg and noodles, chilli with rice, vegetable casserole with or without dumplings, roast veg and some kind of burger, pasta bake with cheesely and crunched up crisps plain crisps on top and baked in oven(sounds gross but it taste rad) falafel and salad, scrambled tofu on toast. I don’t think i’m much help most of those are carbalicious haha!

  3. November 7, 2010 11:18 pm

    Haha I believe I’m getting a carb face! I think I’m getting water weight as well, which is horrible, but I’ve just been put on iron tablets so it might be because of those..
    These ideas sound great! Thank you so much, I was shocked when I saw such a huge reply! I’m very much on the houmous and vegetables, it tastes so good.. and I’ve made a falafel salad to take to university tomorrow, I just needed a few more ideas, and reassuring myself that I’m eating the right things etc. I’m still in the process of finding out what is out there for vegans, I also live in Derby, so there aren’t a lot of sources to buy food from except for supermarkets, but I’m not going to give up :)
    Thanks again!

  4. November 8, 2010 12:45 am

    Ha yeah soz got a bit carried away. Water retention isn’t helped by having lots of salt too so that might be causing it? Drink heaps of water to flush it out (ironically). You can’t really go wrong if you are eating loads of veggies and getting something from each food group – and it sounds like you are being pretty mindful of what you are eating. Add extra portions of broccoli to your dinners, it’ll help you absorb that iron and also has heaps of calcium in it!

  5. November 8, 2010 9:44 pm

    oooo your a star, i feel like your my nutritionist!

  6. November 9, 2010 1:42 am

    Hahaha yeah i’m probably giving you awful advice! I just know I haven’t died yet or got sick at all so figure I must be doing something right!?

  7. November 9, 2010 1:58 pm

    Haha, I 100% agree with you there, you definitely are! i went to tesco today and they have some new chocolate vegan ice cream in, but selling it at £3.99, raping my purse! i couldn’t do it, i’m going to wait till my mum next goes haha

  8. November 9, 2010 5:45 pm

    Oh wow! I’m gonna hunt down that ice cream. I remember being gutted when i discovered some awesome looking dairy free ice cream and grabbed it without checking the price, it was £8 o__O. I can only imagine it had been hand-made by royalty. Didn’t even taste that good either, just like a frozen coconut.

  9. November 9, 2010 8:06 pm

    What! £8, thats ridiculous, and it didn’t taste good? how grim.. yeah get it, they have one for £1.99 as well thats vanilla, its reallllllll good

Leave a Reply

