Skip to content

For all those morons…

October 25, 2010

(Meat eaters) Who relish in asking me and other vegans questions with the sole aim of “catching us out”, we’re not dumb enough to believe that living in the western world means we can completely abstain from being a part of the routine exploitation of animals.  The only way that could happen is if we went and lived in the woods and ate nothing but mushrooms and berries and wore hand-woven clothes.

At the end of the day, I do what I can as far as my conscience takes me and I know that as a combined effort, those that remove meat and dairy and as many other consumables with animal by-products in are helping to neutralise the bad habits the rest of the world has picked up.

If this picture is true it’s pretty amazing.  I had no idea about emeryboards and glass!

Peace and love to all living creatures.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Rob permalink
    October 25, 2010 3:17 pm

    It’s the self-righteousness you exude in phrases like “helping to neutralise the bad habits the rest of the world has picked up” that results in people trying to “catching you out”, I would imagine

  2. October 25, 2010 4:25 pm

    I really wasn’t asking a question. If Joe public doesn’t want smug self righteous then they shouldn’t play Devil’s advocate (or read my blog). And it’s unfortunate because given the chance, most people who seek “alternative lifestyles” (I use that term loosely as an umbrella term seeing as veganism is not just a dietary choice) – be that veganism, freeganism, straight edge, hippies, eco-villagers whatever the fuck – are more than happy to talk about it. But being openly mocked on a daily basis by idiots who ask things like “do you eat chicken though?” is more than grating.

  3. October 25, 2010 6:11 pm

    Well that little picture is eye opening haha. I am fully off it! I thought I was doing pretty well. But film, pens, antifreeze and fabric softener. I can not operate with out that haha shit. Thats soooo intense!

  4. October 25, 2010 7:53 pm

    Yeah i’m sure it’s probably a bit archaic though…kinda like how all soap used to be made of blubber – i know camera film uses Gelatine though, bummer eh. When you buy things like fabric softener, just look out for a long science word followed by “Tallow” haha, it’s the rendered fat. Mmm.

Leave a Reply

