Skip to content

Tony the Dinosaur

August 14, 2011

I drew this as a little gift for my friend’s son, 4 year old Finn, who is being Christened today.  They asked that in lieu of gifts, we give some money to a charity instead.  However, I thought it would be nice to have something to give on the day too.

The story behind Tony the dinosaur:  Well, he came about when I was left alone with said 4 year old for five minutes in a car one day.  To avoid an awkward silence I started talking about a dinosaur that lived in my garden called Tony – of course this wasn’t true as dinosaurs have been extinct for many years but he didn’t know this because he’s only four.  Finn was excited to hear I had a dinosaur in my garden and asked to meet him, panicked about having to make up an excuse as to why he couldn’t visit him I told him that Tony ate little boys and in fact had eaten the little boy next door.  “WHY???” he yelled in horror.  “Well”, I said backtracking after noticing the fear in his eyes via the rear-view mirror, “he only eats naughty boys…you aren’t naughty are you Finn?” *silence*…”umm…no i’m good all the time”.  What followed after this was about one hour of non-stop questions from Finn trying to figure out when exactly Tony the dinosaur might be tempted to eat a little boy again.  One hour is an incredibly long time in the life of a four year old boy and also in the life of somebody trying to bullshit a kid.  In the end I told him that Tony had actually been to rehab for his little boy addiction and was now quite a nice dinosaur and would probably want to be his friend.  Now whenever I see him he always asks when he can meet Tony the Dinosaur and I always have to tell him he’s on holiday or he’s ill or he fell off the wagon and went on a rampage at a nearby primary school and he’s too dangerous to be around right now.  Anyway, if you have a four year old who you feel needs to have the wits scared out of him, leave him alone with me for a couple of minutes and i’ll provide enough story telling for 6 months of nightmares.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 12, 2011 4:23 pm

    This guy rewls. I cant believe how good you are! Oh liiiink my blog ;) Also, goodluck tomorrow hunneh! x

  2. September 12, 2011 9:28 pm

    Haha thanks, added!

Leave a Reply

